Earlier this year I passed my fiftieth birthday and I wanted to mark the occasion with something special.  Ordinarily we are not travellers, I have a serious health problem that can make things difficult and my wife really does not like being too far away from home. So our holidays every year are taken here in the UK, most often at the Gower, our favourite place of all.

For my fiftieth I decided we should venture a bit further afield, but I wanted it to be a place that was within easy reach of home.  I work for the railway so we get some really great travel perks. So we applied for our passports for the first time ever and booked first class travel on the Eurostar to Paris for a four day trip.

I booked a hotel that was located opposite Gare-Du-Nord station to make the trip as easy as possible and we set off on October 27th. 

We wanted to get in as many of the sights as possible, so we booked a two day pass on the open top, hop-on hop-off bus tour, which I would certainly recommend, it was excellent value and very convenient.

Whilst there we visited the Louvre, The Eiffel Tower, Sacre-Coeuer, Notre Dame and many other legendary places. We had an absolutely fabulous time, although it was exhausting. Paris is a huge, bustling metropolis, a multi-cultural hotpot with extravagant wealth and appalling poverty living right next to each other.  We loved the short time we had there, here are a few photos to give a flavour of the trip.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

