Boys and their toys ‘ey?  Every so often I get a yearning for a new bass, but in recent years I have tried (at least tried) to be a bit more sensible about it.

Back in 1999 I bought a brand new Mexican built Fender Jazz five string and had that for a few years, it was a lovely bass for the money. £300 brand new in those days. I often wish I’d kept it, but as is the way of things to got traded in and that was quite a few basses ago.

This year I decided it might be time to venture back into Fender territory and initially had a fancy for a USA jazz model. You understand of course it had to be a five string, I rely far too much on that bottom ‘B’ to consider anything else, hence a vintage model was never in the running.

A lot of my bass playing friends out there have bass collections that are taking over their houses, so I have tried to hold to a ‘one-in-one-out’ policy and that is working out quite well. The only question was, which one is going to go.  Also I needed to make a bit of money if I was going to get a USA model, even at second hand prices.

Hence I decided that the Status Streamline was going to be the sacrificial goat. A truly fantastic bass, but I tend to play my S2 Classic for most gigs and the Streamline was a backup and a portable option when space was at a premium.

Mark Stickley and the boys up at Bass Direct in Warwick were brilliantly helpful to me and I want to thank them for everything they did.  I took the Status up to the shop and they agreed to sell it for me so that I could finance a new bass.  Whilst there I tried out a few fantastic jazz bass options from other manufacturers. I especially liked the Sandbergs and the Mayones. 

I left the bass with them and awaited the results…

Meanwhile my good friend Matt Cohen of The Reasoning, was also getting itchy fingers. He traded in his two Fender Precisions and opted for a gorgeous Vigier five string. This meant that his two Precisions were prostituting themselves before me every time I logged on to the Bass Direct website! (Phwoaar!)

After a few days a deal was sorted with the Bass Direct guys and I am now the owner of this little beauty. I was looking for something with a very traditional sound that would suit the blues band well and this passive, single pickup, classic design fits the bill perfectly. It’s thunderous tone is perfect for a blues trio.  Come and see us play soon and you can judge for yourselves.

The photos below are blatantly pinched from the Bass Direct listing, hope you don’t mind Mark?

