I just had a conversation with the cashier in Tesco, which is so unbelievably hilarious that I don’t know whether to laugh or cry in despair, I had to blog about it just to get it off my chest!

 First a bit of background. I have a condition called hereditary angioedema, I’ve written extensively about that elsewhere on this site, so if you want to know more try here.

 One of the ways in which I manage the condition is simply by watching what I eat, I discovered a long time ago that there are certain things that are prone to causing an attack, so I avoid those foods altogether. The main thing I have to avoid is fatty meat, primarily beef, lamb and pork.

 Poultry and fish are fine though and I also eat a lot of vegetarian food. Just now and then I buy turkey rashers, as a kind of poor substitute for bacon if I fancy a cooked breakfast.

 tesco_elh_logoSo here I was in Tesco today, getting the shopping in and I fancy some turkey rashers. I head for the till and as she is ringing everything up the cashier comes across this apparently unusual item and we have a conversation that goes something like this:

 Cashier: So are these like bacon, only made out of turkey then?

 Me: yes, they are turkey rashers, I can’t eat bacon.

 Mrs L: He doesn’t eat anything with four legs.

 (A simple and slightly amusing way of explaining the problem that has become something of a default position in recent years)

 At this point the cashier looks puzzled, contemplates the item and then says…product_TurkeyRashers_Smoked

 …this was the one that got me…

 Cashier: but…turkeys have four legs

 …

a short silence ensued, I must have looked a little dumbstruck, she proceeded to make little flappy motions with her arms as if to suggest she was including wings in the equation, but this was never going to wash.

In a bizarre kind of way, this little gem has really made my day worthwhile, so thanks Tesco, you’ve made an old man very happy today.

