yes-chris-squireI heard the devastating news today that Chris Squire had passed away, just a short time after announcing that he had been suffering from leukemia.

I’ve been listening to Chris’s incredible, punchy bass lines since I bought my first two Yes albums around 1977. I was thirteen at the time and one of the boys in school wanted to sell these two LPs. They were ‘Time And A Word’ and ‘Tormato’. Two very different albums, neither of which would be thought of as classic Yes, but they started me on a journey which has continued ever since.

SCAN0068I first saw Yes live on 14th July 1984 at the NEC, Birmingham on the 9012live tour. A fantastic show that was opened by half an hour of Bugs Bunny cartoons on a big screen. I’ve seen them many times since then, in many forms, most recently on the three-album tour in Bristol.

Throughout all the line up changes Chris has always been there. I wonder what the future will bring. I hope they find a way forward and I’m sure that’s what Chris would want.

I started to play bass at the age of nineteen after being a failed guitarist and Chris has always been one of my favourite and most inspirational bassists. His clanky Rickenbacker stomping all over the mix is one of the key elements to the classic Yes sound. I love to play around with Chris’s lines, although I don’t do them justice.SCAN0067

My favourite Yes album has always been ‘Close To The Edge’ but my favourite Yes bass album is definitely ‘Fragile’, both for the epic solo piece ‘The Fish’ and for Chris’s outstanding part on ‘Heart Of The Sunrise’ which became a live highlight for the band throughout their career.

I never got Chris’s autograph on my copies, just Bill, Rock and Steve.

So long Chris, and thanks for ‘The Fish’

 

