I was very sad to hear that Roye Albrighton, lead guitarist and vocalist of the classic band Nektar has passed away at the age of 67.  Nektar are a band that have been a big part of my musical journey ever since my mate Chris introduced me to them over thirty years ago.  They made some fantastically pompous prog-rock albums and were often labelled as Krautrock despite being an English/Welsh band.  They were always much more popular in Germany and mainland Europe than they were over here.

Roye Albrighton
Roye Albrighton

They broke up around 1980 and I never got to see them, so when they reformed in 2002 I was thrilled to get to see them in London, with a full nostalgic light show, I caught them again live a couple of years later, although the line up had changed a bit by then.

I’ve got most of the stuff they released on CD over the years, below are a few of my all-time favourites. The album art always contained something circular for some reason.

 

